breezy

I thought I could get away with just wearing what I want to wear, but extreme heat has its own ideas

Bangalore is going through a bit of an early heatwave and loose cotton or linen clothing is the order of the day

I’ve made a great friend who is also a sewer and together we’ve been exploring a set of little streets and laneways crammed with fabric and clothing stores that sell remnants, seconds and over-runs.  The stock changes frequently and is cheap (although we’re sure we’re not getting the local price!)

This is one of the fabrics I bought last week

not pattern skirt

It did occur to me as I started to cut this fabric that the reason it was cheap was probably because it wasn’t straight, but so far, so good.  A wash will tell!

skirt3

Although not quite so cool I’ve made this extended waist band from a stretch woven (stash, hauled from Australia)

skirt4

and added elastic stitched to the inside facing so that the waistband won’t roll down

skirt2

I can even wear it with black!

No pictures yet, but my sewing room is taking shape.  Looking for a dressmakers model and maybe even a straightstitch flatbed with an underbed trimmer – I miss my old one so much :(

Lx

2 thoughts on “breezy

Leave a Reply

