simplicity 2497

2497

I bought this pattern at least 12 months ago and even though it made it to the top of the pile numerous times, it always remained ‘unmade’

floral dress3comp

After a failed attempt at another Simplicity pattern where the waistband was just too small, I made this with some modifications.  A friend recently made a scrunchie waistband and I decided that could be the comfort answer I was after in an extreme heat dress.  I did some dodgy patternmaking, laying the bodice and skirt pieces together, blending and cutting all in one go to make a sheath dress with a belt.

floral dress2comp

The fabric has a crinkle finish and came from Spotlight.  I’m pretty sure it was from the Lisette range.

floral dress1

The pattern called for a twice turned narrow hem, but I used the narrow rolled hem on my overlocker

After seeing photos I will go back and make some alterations.  I will fit the bodice under the arms and sculpt it at the waist to remove some of the fabric bulk and make the scrunchie smaller

cotton&curls

cottonandcurls

And after seeing this I’m going back to make it again, with the waistband and pockets.  I like this little cap sleeve and the length too

2497 will see another day!

 

2 thoughts on “simplicity 2497

Leave a Reply

